Saturday, October 28, 2017

Volvo Ocean Race: Vestas wins Leg 1 Scuttlebutt Sailing News

Above Stacey Jackson is one of the two women among the nine members of the Vestas Wind crew which won the 1,450 nm leg 1 of the round the world Volvo Ocean Race.

The Volvo Ocean race 2017-2018 began a week ago.  Thanks to a rule change that allows larger crew if women are included on the team every boat has at least one women.  And SCA - Scallawag has five women and five men.

Like its predecessor known as the Whitbread it is a race to the southern ocean, then a circumnavigation of Antarctica.  the premier one-design ocean race.  It has the intensity of club round-the-buoys racing: but the buoys have names like Cape of Good Hope and Cape Horn. - gwc

Volvo Ocean Race: Vestas wins Leg 1 Scuttlebutt Sailing News: (October 28, 2017; Day 7, 14:09 UTC) - Vestas 11th Hour Racing have won Leg 1 of the Volvo Ocean Race, crossing the finish line in the River Tagus in Lisbon.  Skippered by Charles Enright the boat carries both U.S. and Danish flags.

2017-18 Edition: Entered Teams – Skippers

• Team AkzoNobel (NED), Simeon Tienpont (NED)

• Dongfeng Race Team (CHN), Charles Caudrelier (FRA)

• MAPFRE (ESP), Xabi Fernández (ESP)

• Vestas 11th Hour Racing (DEN/USA), Charlie Enright (USA)

• Team Sun Hung Kai/Scallywag (HKG), David Witt (AUS)

• Turn the Tide on Plastic (POR), Dee Caffari (GBR)

• Team Brunel (NED), Bouwe Bekking (NED)
Background: Racing the one design Volvo Ocean 65, the 2017-18 Volvo Ocean Race began in Alicante, Spain on October 22 2017 with the final finish in The Hague, Netherlands on June 30 2018. In total, the 11-leg race will visit 12 cities in six continents: Alicante, Lisbon, Cape Town, Melbourne, Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Auckland, Itajaí, Newport, Cardiff, Gothenburg, and The Hague. A maximum of eight teams will compete.